Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Noob Advice For Learning Please

View previous topic :: View next topic  
AfxTwn

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 8:41 am    Post subject: Noob Advice For Learning Please Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I am thinking of getting an MS 20 Mini but I am a beginner with using synthesizers. I have got a bit of a taste with using synths as I already own a Monotribe and a Microkorg but I'd like to learn how to use them properly rather than just turning the knobs and flicking switches until I get a sound I like (or is that the point of synths?).

I watch a lot of the Sonicstate videos and they seem really knowledgeable and I'd love to be able to know what each knob does and how it effects things. I will probably also get an SQ-1 so I can sequence the MS 20.

Anyway, how do I go about learning how to use the synths, are there any good books I could read that show examples or is it a case of just playing with the synth and over time getting familiar with it and naturally learning the instrument?

I love messing about with my Monotribe and Microkorg but the MS 20 seems like a whole other level. I have been really seduced by all the Sonicstate videos of NAMM and MESSE showing modular synths and would love to get into that and so I thought the MS 20 might be a good way to start as it's low cost and is semi-modular.

Thanks for any advice.
Frenzies

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 10:16 am    Post subject: Re: Noob Advice For Learning Please Reply with quote

AfxTwn wrote: