Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Love the recording features!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Randelph
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:35 am    Post subject: Love the recording features! Reply with quote

Helped a friend by a Kross, a complete newbie to keyboards, and all I could say is wow, you picked an awesome time to buy a low end workstation.

He's a once upon a time piano player (is not so good now), but mostly he wants to record his own backing tracks for his poetry/slammin', and record his voice and record his djembe.

I had the M3, and while I enjoyed it in many ways, it was way too much technology for me to get down to the business of recording. With the Kross, in a matter of an hour or two, I was able to easily
~ Step sequence
~ Record backing tracks to the SD card
~ And freakin' overdub anything- mic, line input, stepsequence, sequence, live playing. And so straightforward.

It doesn't do nearly as much as my M3 did, but the things it does, esp. in regards to recording, are much more user friendly. In fact, given the choice, esp. with the price difference, I'd take the Kross over the M3.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the 61 note keybed not that bad (although not anyway near as good as the M3 of course); I remember the M-50 61 having a horrible keybed, so not that bad is a relief.

For singer songwriters this board is wonderful, esp. if not wanting to deal with excessive amounts of technology to accomplish your ends.

How does the Juno G compare? I know it has recording features as well (up to 8 tracks?). Is it friendly to use as well?