Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Mono Legato mode and velocity

View previous topic :: View next topic  
kanthos
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:41 pm    Post subject: Mono Legato mode and velocity Reply with quote

I'm pretty new to actual synth programming, so this might be a silly question, but I couldn't find a standard definition on Google as to what Mono Legato should do (in general), nor in the manual, nor did I find anything that cleared it up here on the forums so far.

Take factory preset User-B-088 - Screaming Mini. Mono Legato is turned on, and the legato mode is set to Normal. Play one note, striking the key as hard as you can, and do not release it. Then play a different note, striking the key as gently as possible. The second note sounds at the volume of the first note. I assume this is because, as the M3 Parameter Guide says, envelopes and LFOs aren't retriggered when you're playing in legato mode, so the volume I hear for the second note would just be whatever the volume is, as affected by the amp envelopes; since this particular lead has a short attack and decay, I'm likely hearing the sustain stage's volume based on the velocity of the first note.

In short, this means that legato phrases are played with a uniform volume, based on the velocity of the first note in the phrase, when in Normal mode.

I can see that if I switch the Mode to "Use Legato Offset", the envelopes and LFOs are retriggered and the sample is played back from the legato start point. For this sound, and some others I've tried with, there's a slight click or pop, so it's not as smooth.