Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos ribbon controller

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kim

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:11 pm    Post subject: Kronos ribbon controller Reply with quote

I'm kind of new to Korg ribbon controllers. I've noticed that there are differences on the pressure needed to play it between manufacturers.

Anyway, I noticed that it is hard to me play the Kronos ribbon controller very smoothly. Too often the sound "studders", especially if I move my finger close to the edges.

I have to apply quite a hard pressure to the ribbon controller to get smooth sound trasitions. I don't know if this is normal or is my technique bad? So:

Is there a way to calibrate the ribbon controller to make it more sensitive to touch, thus making it sound smoother? I guess laptop touchpad-sensitivity is out of question ;D

At the Oasys forum there was a mention of AMS-programming, which could help.

http://www.korgforums.com/forum_archive/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=25842

So is this possible on the Kronos as well?
michelkeijzers
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have an answer, but I didn't know about the usage of an AMS mixer for this. Thanks for sharing the article.

I don't use the ribbon controller much, I use a pedal to set the ribbon controller, and yes I also think the ribbon controller needs to be pressed hard.

Developer of the free PCG file managing application for most Korg workstations: PCG Tools, see https://www.kronoshaven.com/pcgtools/