Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I have a few ?'s. What is MIDI, SoftSynths, DAW, etc.?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Virtual Soft Synths, and Plug’ins.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
arzie

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:43 am    Post subject: I have a few ?'s. What is MIDI, SoftSynths, DAW, etc.? Reply with quote

These things have been on my mind lately and I can't seem to get the right meanings to them. I'm very new to music but eager to learn. So, I was hoping someone could answer a few questions for me..

If you could put them into more simple terms that would be great, i looked them up on wikipedia but it only confused me Sad

1. What is MIDI?

2. What are SoftSynths?

3. What is DAW?

4. Can you explain these four things:
- Vocal
- Drums
- Texture
- Lead

5. When you see a musician at a concert with 2 Keyboards and a computer, for example, Kontrol 49 and MicroKorg and Mac Computer, what is each one doing? What does the Kontrol 49 actually 'control' ?

Thanks for any help!!!
tpantano
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:28 am    Post subject: Re: I have a few ?'s. What is MIDI, SoftSynths, DAW, etc.? Reply with quote

arzie wrote:
These things have been on my mind lately and I can't seem to get the right meanings to them. I'm very new to music but eager to learn. So, I was hoping someone could answer a few questions for me..

If you could put them into more simple terms that would be great, i looked them up on wikipedia but it only confused me Sad

1. What is MIDI?

2. What are SoftSynths?

3. What is DAW?

4. Can you explain these four things:
- Vocal
- Drums