Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

making interesting arrangements and lines

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Song writing - Lyrics & Collaboration
View previous topic :: View next topic  
X-Trade

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:24 pm    Post subject: making interesting arrangements and lines Reply with quote

I've been making my own music for a while...

but for the past year after I started learning a bit more about piano and music theory I tend to find myself leaning towards more chord progressions and my melodic writing has suffered.
now I have some great chord progressions, but I can't put any decent melody or solo or arpegiated sections to them, so my music seems to suffer...
I often don't even know what other instruments to use...

currently i am working for a soundtrack for a film as coursework project and again i'm stuck with just some chords on really nice strings, and got someone else to 'noodle' on an acoustic guitar...

i also know that other chords should be able to fit on top of my chords sometimes for example if i wanted to add an EP sound, but then I don't really understand that, and it doesn't sound as good just playing the same chord an octave up...

does anyone have any tips as to what kinds of instruments can make a full sound? for example i have strings, bass, an arpy thing, a lower bass, and some EP for one track... most of these are really simple hit/decay sounds...
and any tips on improvising or composing melodic lines for these instruments?