Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sustain Timeout

View previous topic :: View next topic  
wsthomas1

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 6:29 pm    Post subject: Sustain Timeout Reply with quote

I'm pretty new to the Kronos so this may be a simple question, but i can't seem to find it in the parameter guide. I'm using the Square Rez sound (int D053 on my Kronos) and i'd like the sound to fade out after a few seconds when holding down the sustain pedal. This effect works on the piano sounds but for this synth sound, it keeps playing as long as i hold the pedal down. Thank You
KK
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most synthesizers use ADSR (attack/decay/sustain/release) envelopes or some special configuration of them. In the Kronos, there is an additional step called break before the sustain, which makes ADBSR envelopes.

On all synths, the sustain is the level at which you want the sound to stay on when you press the damper/sustain pedal. The synth sound you mention obviously has a defined level (above 0) for this parameter in its amplitude envelope.

On the other hand, in terms of synth envelopes, an acoustic piano has no sustain. Just a long decay. So if you want the synth you mention to behave the same, turn its amplitude envelope(s) sustain to 0 and instead adjust the decay and break times and levels to what you want.
wsthomas1

PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2020 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote