Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New Korg Krome 88 Advice please

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Alexikeys

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:08 pm    Post subject: New Korg Krome 88 Advice please Reply with quote

Dear Members, I'm new to this site so hello fellow musicians!

I bought a new Korg Krome 88 about three years ago. For various reasons, time restraints and distractions I had it left boxed for said years until yesterday - mad I know! So I finally put it out on it's stand ready to be inspired. I was a pro musician for many years and have owned various weighted digital pianos and synths. I went for the Krome because it's fairly light in weight and it seemed to have great reviews. I also tried it at the time in a music store.

With all this is in mind when I came to play it yesterday I'm sad to say, I was pretty underwhelmed. I plugged some headphones into the front headphone socket and while auditioning the sounds, found that many of them sounded weird. Many sounded over effected and very distant. I tried a second pair of headphones and it was the same. One of the sounds which was a synth bass, I could hardly hear at all. I have tried programmes and combis but on just going through the programme bank, found the first default piano 00 quite loud, bright and trebly and then the next sound which I seem to remember was an electric piano, very quiet/distant and very effected with reverb etc.