Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos adding warmth to sound
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ejt



Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:49 am    Post subject: Kronos adding warmth to sound Reply with quote

I'm thinking of putting the Kronos through like a tube pre something like the presonus for gigging just to add a bit of warmth to some sounds I'm really happy with most of the sounds but compared to my Kurzweil Forte it lacks abit in the sounds for live use has anyone else done something similiar if so what options work best. I know the Kronos is way more powerful than the triton extreme but something similar to that vacuum tube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 2011

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Kronos has several tube amp modelling effects, plus there are amp cabinet simulator effects and compressor/limiter effects. One or more of these should hopefully get the desired sound. See the Parameter Guide effects section for more info.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ejt



Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks will look further into the effects section. Just new to the whole Kronos still trying to figure out everything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KK
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 608

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've summarized most info about that here :

http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=83231&start=59
_________________
Musician, solution designer for keyboard instruments and more.
Kronos : Color LEDs mod12345612345Kronos : Change Quick Layer & Quick Split default programs (PM me for password)
Kronos : Custom velocity curves12345Kronos : Aftertouch hardware solution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ejt



Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Such a great list thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KK did an awesome job with that list.

Here's another suggestion.

The Total FX (TFX) are at the end of all the effects.
In other words, everything goes through them then direct to the Outputs.*

For live use, try using the Stereo Tube Preamp on TFX1.
The preset Warm and Fuller is good.
Careful with those dB gains on the pre and post... it can get nasty fast.

You never want any of the Kronos' signal going into the red on its meters.

So to keep things safe and controlled,
I permanently have TFX2 on Stereo Mastering Limiter, on the MixMax preset.
That will prevent anything from going into the red.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:21 pm    Post subject: Set List EQ Reply with quote

* Set List EQ

You have an additional EQ that is after the TFX but before the Outs.
The idea behind this is easy live access to an overall EQ.

Touch the white graphic underneath the Set List slots.
Uncheck the Bypass button.

You can use the sliders for hands-on control as a 9-band EQ
To use the sliders, look next to the Drum Track button.
Press the Tone Adj/EQ button one or two times, until the EQ LED is lit.

That EQ should help in a pinch to get you warmer sounds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:31 pm    Post subject: EQ per program Reply with quote

While we're on the subject of EQs and warmth...

Every program has its own 3-band parametric EQ.

It's on the same tab on all the EXi programs.
Common ==> EQ
(both tabs on bottom row)

On the HD-1 programs:
Amp/EQ (bottom row, 5th tab)
The EQ tab is on the 2nd row, far right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ejt



Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestion that makes a difference is there a way to apply this globally or has to be done per sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:35 pm    Post subject: Combi Overview Reply with quote

Set List EQ is global.
Just use this at gigs to compensate for room acoustics.

(I'm assuming you're using Set List mode at gigs).
Each Set List slot can hold either
- a single Program
- a Combi
- a Song/Sequence

I'd suggest using Combis as much as possible.
You're doing cover songs with multiple parts, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's look at the home page of a Combi.
(Press the EXIT button under Data Wheel to go to Home page)

This is set up as a 16 channel mixer.
For each channel strip, going from bottom to top:

Slider = volume
knob = pan
lower button = solo
upper button = mute

Status: Off, INT, Ext, Ext2
- leave at default Internal
- unless you are controlling an External synth

Small dropdown arrow
- chooses a specific Bank/Program
- all programs are displayed
- handy if you know exactly where to go

Large dropdown arrow
- opens an additional Category column
- only displays related programs
- use this to filter choices according to category
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:56 pm    Post subject: Combi EQ view Reply with quote

Here's the magic page you've been looking for Very Happy

The EQ tab is the 2nd tab, lower row
(Timbre EQ tab, upper row)

Now you have access to every instrument's EQ.
Tweak, and save Combi.

================================

If you want to apply a "global EQ" to the Combi as a whole:

Go to MFX/TFX tab
(bottom row, far right)

The dropdown arrow for TFX1 is where you select which FX to use.
You have several types of EQ to choose from.

This knowledge should keep you busy for awhile Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psionic311
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 1042
Location: Orlando, Florida USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ejt wrote:
Thanks for the suggestion that makes a difference is there a way to apply this globally or has to be done per sound


Do you prefer quicker answers, or is the longer detailed reply fine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ejt



Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The longer detailed reply is even better want to learn as much as possible about the Kronos really appreciate such detailed replies and the information provided is of great help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ejt



Joined: 15 Dec 2016
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Combi Overview Reply with quote

psionic311 wrote:
Set List EQ is global.
Just use this at gigs to compensate for room acoustics.

(I'm assuming you're using Set List mode at gigs).
Each Set List slot can hold either
- a single Program
- a Combi
- a Song/Sequence

I'd suggest using Combis as much as possible.
You're doing cover songs with multiple parts, right?


all the sounds I use are organised in set list, and most songs have multiple parts where ever is possible I have them in Combis. There are some that have to be seperate programs but the set list is such an important feature especially using it in gigs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group