Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Load MIDI files in the Kronos
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AdDeRoo
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 521
Location: Northern Italy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:04 pm    Post subject: Load MIDI files in the Kronos Reply with quote

Hi all

I'd like to load in several midi files in the Kronos (using an USB stick), to use them in the Kronos sequencer.

I cannot trace on the Kronos, nor in the manuals, how I should do this.

Could anyone advice me how to get this done?

Thanks in advance

Ad
_________________
Ad

Current gear : Korg Kronos 88 (SN 0979) / Akai Advance 61 / Korg PA2X / Kurzweil K2500R / Korg Nanopad2 / Neo Ventilator / Roland PCR-800 / Akai EWI USB / Synthmaster / OPX-PRO II / Arturia V-Collection / Roland Octa Capture / Cakewalk Sonar Platinum / Addictive Drums 2 / AAS VSTs / Reason 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mathieumaes
Senior Member


Joined: 10 Dec 2011
Posts: 430

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easy... Load the MIDI file just like you would load a song. Go to disk mode, select your MIDI file and click "load". The file will be loaded as a song, you can choose to "clear" the song memory or "append" it to a new song.
_________________
Old gig setup: Yamaha S90, Roland Fantom XR, Hammond XM-1, M-Audio Axiom 61
2011 gig setup: Korg Kronos 88
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jamsire
Full Member


Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathieumaes wrote:
Easy... Load the MIDI file just like you would load a song. Go to disk mode, select your MIDI file and click "load". The file will be loaded as a song, you can choose to "clear" the song memory or "append" it to a new song.


Ok - that was helpful!! Thank you.
_________________
Too much equipment. What a bonehead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdDeRoo
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 521
Location: Northern Italy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks indeed!. Found it in the meantime in the manual as well. I thought you could load an SMF while in the sequencer, but it works otherwise, and as easy as you describe.
_________________
Ad

Current gear : Korg Kronos 88 (SN 0979) / Akai Advance 61 / Korg PA2X / Kurzweil K2500R / Korg Nanopad2 / Neo Ventilator / Roland PCR-800 / Akai EWI USB / Synthmaster / OPX-PRO II / Arturia V-Collection / Roland Octa Capture / Cakewalk Sonar Platinum / Addictive Drums 2 / AAS VSTs / Reason 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Rskeys
Full Member


Joined: 26 Sep 2011
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For making your midi files sound good i advise you to read this thread :

http://karma-lab.wikidot.com/korg-m3:configuring-the-m3-to-play-general-midi-files

Worked in M3 but i still didn't try it out on the kronos although im very shure you will have to tweak things to get them sounding good. Hope this helps in some way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AdDeRoo
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 521
Location: Northern Italy

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, this will be helpful

Is there somebody that would know how to remap (external software tool?) the typical GM drum map to the Kronos typical drum map? I know I can use the Kronos GM settings and use a Kronos GM drum patch, but I'd like to explore the full Kronos drum kits as well, if possible

Thanks

Ad
_________________
Ad

Current gear : Korg Kronos 88 (SN 0979) / Akai Advance 61 / Korg PA2X / Kurzweil K2500R / Korg Nanopad2 / Neo Ventilator / Roland PCR-800 / Akai EWI USB / Synthmaster / OPX-PRO II / Arturia V-Collection / Roland Octa Capture / Cakewalk Sonar Platinum / Addictive Drums 2 / AAS VSTs / Reason 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
amartinod
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mathieumaes wrote:
Easy... Load the MIDI file just like you would load a song. Go to disk mode, select your MIDI file and click "load". The file will be loaded as a song, you can choose to "clear" the song memory or "append" it to a new song.

Doing that from a BIAB midi file or a LoGic pro file I get an error message: ILLEGAL SMF DATA ??

Any idea ?

THANK YOU,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 2096
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ALL loading is done from Disk Mode.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amartinod
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Midi file is created and exported from Band in a box or logic pro,
then I copy it on my USB stick,
then i plug the USB in one of the B position on the Kronos,
then I enter DISK MODE,
select my usb stick,
my midi file appears and I select it,
then I click on LOAD,
and Kronos tells me : "ILLEGAL SMF DATA"

and the midi file is not loaded....

I cannot understand why....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 2096
Location: CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

amartinod- are you sure BIAB is saving as SMF, and not some proprietary file format, native to BIAB. The File extension should be .mid. Does BIAB allow saving or exporting to .mid. Check you BIAB help files to see what file formats it can save in.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saxifraga
Guest


Joined: 26 Mar 2012
Posts: 520
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a special export button in my BIAB Mac V12.
"alt" + "S" for smf files. Do you use that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amartinod
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ronnfigg wrote:
amartinod- are you sure BIAB is saving as SMF, and not some proprietary file format, native to BIAB. The File extension should be .mid. Does BIAB allow saving or exporting to .mid. Check you BIAB help files to see what file formats it can save in.


Yes, they do save songs as SMF 1 files, and I have no problem to import them
in Logic Pro seqencer sofware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amartinod
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Saxifraga wrote:
There is a special export button in my BIAB Mac V12.
"alt" + "S" for smf files. Do you use that?


Yes, this exactly what I do,
or with Menu : File / Save Standard midi file
which is equivalent to "Alt + s"

Thanks for your help, but Kronos V 2.06 rejects this file as "illegal"......

Could someone mail me a Midi file he could load to KRONOS
so I can see if problem is BIAB or Kronos ?


Last edited by amartinod on Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:23 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 2096
Location: CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are plenty MIDI SMFs to download for free on the Internet.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amartinod
Junior Member


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ronnfigg wrote:
There are plenty MIDI SMFs to download for free on the Internet.


I already tested some of them : "Illegal SMF DAta " ...

Did you succeed to load a midi file in Disk mode, with a usb stick and Firmware : 2.06 for Kronos ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group