Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Monotron Ext power supply

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> KORG Monotron Series
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SynthPlaer



Joined: 07 Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:15 pm    Post subject: Monotron Ext power supply Reply with quote

Got Monotrons (Original & Duo)...
Love 'em, use 'em all the time...
Batteries are killin' me...
I'm going to add DC power plugs...
I have a switchmode 3v 1A power supply...
It measues 3.38v on the meter ?

My question:
Can the Monotron handle this power supply without any mods ?
(voltage dividers/regulators etc - most PS mods use these)
Is the extra .38v a dealbreaker ?
Is 1A okay to power both units ?
Dumb questions I know... but can't seem to find any answers on the interwebs. Brick wall
Thanx for any info
_________________
All Synths...All the Time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrHoo
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 657
Location: North Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This man knows.... http://www.dinsync.info/2010/06/how-to-modify-korg-monotron.html

Cool
_________________
My current Korg gear. MS20 Mini... & now the .... Oh, maybe not !
...Had a few other Korg things over the years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aliasing



Joined: 05 Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I use a couple of 1.2V, 800 mAh NiMH rechargeable batteries for my monotrons and it works very well.
Using a bench power supply unit, with a voltage of 2.4 Vdc, the absorbed current for one monotron was about 60 mA.
I don't want to modify my monotrons, so I think rechargeable batteries work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
otzcz



Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Posts: 17
Location: Prague

PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 10:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Monotron Ext power supply Reply with quote

SynthPlaer wrote:

My question:
Can the Monotron handle this power supply without any mods ?
(voltage dividers/regulators etc - most PS mods use these)
Is the extra .38v a dealbreaker ?
Is 1A okay to power both units ?
Dumb questions I know... but can't seem to find any answers on the interwebs. Brick wall
Thanx for any info


Bit late, but: YES, 3.38V is definitely OK. I use the 5V DC source and both (Duo and Delay) monotrons runs, BUT there is an issue with pitch scale on Delay, the pitch range of oscillator is accordingly wider (so, if you want to use CV input for pitch control and don't be surprised, you have to keep 3V. Duo has some better solution of this (as seen on scheme), so it keeps the frequency of note pitch accordingly to incoming CV (if any), no matter if the power source gives 2,5 or 5V.
_________________
ER-1, Volca Beats + Bass + Modular, Neutron, Microfreak, Beatstep Pro, Keystep, UC-33e, APC mini, Live 10, few FX, Mackie 1202 VLZ4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> KORG Monotron Series All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group