Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Easiest way to record- DAW or Kronos Sequencer?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
J.S. Bach



Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:14 pm    Post subject: Easiest way to record- DAW or Kronos Sequencer? Reply with quote

I've done a fair amount of recording in professional studios with an engineer. I'm older now and just want to record some music by myself without spending massive amounts of time on the techy side. Is it more straight forward to record into my Kronos sequencer and then transfer the midi files to a DAW or would it be easier to just send audio from the Kronos to the DAW? Is there a DAW that works better with Kronos than the others?
I've looked through scores of topics on here and watched lots of youtube videos but so much information is confusing if you haven't used midi very much.
Thanks for any help or just directing me to a thread that already addresses this topic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 8171
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am biased on the SEQ. Many DAW enthusiast think hardware recording is archaic and so on and so on.

Its really about the result you are looking for and what is a stream lined comfortable recording process- for you.
I think you have to figure that out- you are taking the correct steps.

100% of my recorded songs are Kronos SEQ. No DAW [ that is subject to change next year].

I believe I am getting near professions results with the SEQ. Feel free to check my Sound Cloud.

If you are strong on Kronos navigation and DISK/file management, you have a good footing to use the SEQ.

If it wasn't for the SEQ, it would be Cubase. However, you will read and find that Kronos is not DAW friendly. I will leave that explanation to others, who have doped out that connectivity and learning curve.

These kinds of choices are similar to what weather you like, your choice of favorite food, etc, etc. You know, all subjective.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
J.S. Bach



Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your quick reply. While I have recorded some songs with the sequencer, my attempts are rough. It's perfect to hit the quick record button from a combi and at least retain what my musical idea was. Going back and cleaning it up is where my weakness is.
Is it a better alternative to use Focusrite or other USB adapter in order to just record the audio out of the Kronos to a DAW? I have no hands on with any DAW's yet, just lots of videos.
I'm trying to get educated before I purchase additional hardware or software.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 8171
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

J.S. Bach wrote:
Thanks for your quick reply. While I have recorded some songs with the sequencer, my attempts are rough. It's perfect to hit the quick record button from a combi and at least retain what my musical idea was. Going back and cleaning it up is where my weakness is.
Is it a better alternative to use Focusrite or other USB adapter in order to just record the audio out of the Kronos to a DAW? I have no hands on with any DAW's yet, just lots of videos.
I'm trying to get educated before I purchase additional hardware or software.
Thanks


I hear you. I work heavily in track edit and track parameter in the SEQ

I don't know about your computer. I am on Mac. It might be possible for you to get by without an audio interface{AI]. I found that its better to have an AI.
I am happy with my Steinberg UR44

When you purchase an AI, they usually give you stripped down DAW to work with, so thats a route to consider.

You should be hearing from other Kronos owners who use Logic- an excellent solution.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gminorcoles



Joined: 09 Apr 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the Kronos hooked up to the DAW - either Reaper or FL Studio in my case, but I own other daws like Logic that are not in favor right now. I use USB for the midi connection, which is ironic since I spent a lot of time setting up a low latency RME audio pci card.

But for keyboard playing, the latency is fine, and so hit record and play parts into the DAW from the Kronos, and then edit it in the piano roll which is super easy.

Then when I have parts recorded, sometimes i send all the midi back out to the Kronos and trigger the sounds there, because I find that for some sounds the Kronos sounds Better then anything else I have.

Some of those parts I recorded as audio in the daw just using the 1/4 outs into my audio interface.

I am a bad keyboard player and am super new to the Kronos but that is my workflow and i got two demos done that I am happy with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gminorcoles



Joined: 09 Apr 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

P.s. I wish I could edit the piano roll on the Kronos from my computer directly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Poseidon
Full Member


Joined: 08 Jul 2018
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stay away from cheap audio interfaces. What’s the point to buy it, if Korg Kronos already have one.

My personal recommendation is to get RME, the lowest latencies, stable, splendid driver support. All this at affordable price.

if you have a Mac, Logic Pro X is probably the best performer from all DAWs, unless you want Pro Tools HD.

if you on Windows 10, and your system have more than 14 logical cores (CPU), avoid Cubase DAW, there are serious performance issues and drop-outs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 2078

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A standalone multitrack recorder can also be very useful, and the workflow might have a more familiar feel to it.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KorganizR



Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 25
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

J.S. Bach wrote:
just want to record some music by myself without spending massive amounts of time on the techy side. Is it more straight forward to record into my Kronos sequencer and then transfer the midi files to a DAW or would it be easier to just send audio from the Kronos to the DAW?


You say you don't want to get too techy.
I don't know if you're planning to use audio other than the Kronos' output (i.e. no VSTs, etc.).
If you only use the Kronos as a sound source, then I think:
1) you don't really need to send audio from the Kronos back to the DAW
2) and you don't need to send MIDI files over to the DAW either.

If you want to keep it real simple, consider another approach:
At least in my case I use Reaper as a DAW to use the piano roll, I just send MIDI events (not MIDI files) over the USB cable to the Kronos, and only use Kronos sounds and effects.
Basically I don't really record with the SEQ.
I use SEQ mode for playback only.
I use a SONG entry in a SNG file as a kind of COMBI setup (with all tracks set to BTH so MIDI goes both ways between Kronos and DAW, this cannot be done in a regular COMBI, AFAIK).
When I want to record, I playback from the DAW and record a WAV file on the Kronos.

And for external sounds you can always use Sampling on the Kronos and put it in a Program, so it can be triggered via MIDI by the DAW.

I know I'm missing out on advanced features that the Kronos SEQ has (e.g. recording of complete IFX setup changes via internal SysEx),
and I miss out on the nice sounds that VSTs can offer, but for me I want to keep it simple and only use the Kronos sounds and a DAW piano roll.
Therefore, this MIDI-USB-only setup works good for me.
Of course I need to backup both the Kronos SNG file and the DAW project file. It's not a single "Complete Recall" from within the DAW. But for me that's no problem.

Summary:
DAW (piano roll) <-> MIDI USB <-> Kronos SNG (as a "COMBI" with "BTH")
Playback controlled by DAW -> Record WAV file on Kronos.

Hope this helps.
_________________
Kronos 61, Korg M1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 8171
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KorganizR wrote:
[qu
1] When I want to record, I playback from the DAW and record a WAV file on the Kronos.

.


that sounds like a clever approach

question on 1] above. Do you need to route DAW audio into Kronos audio in ?

IOW, all audio is heard thru Kronos audio to speakers/headphones
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
J.S. Bach



Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, thanks for the informative replies. I'll need to take some time to think through the choices. BTW I have a current Windows 10 laptop with 16 GB of ram, i7 core processor and 2T of hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KorganizR



Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 25
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GregC wrote:

question on 1] above. Do you need to route DAW audio into Kronos audio in ?
IOW, all audio is heard thru Kronos audio to speakers/headphones


Hi Greg, in my case I only use Kronos sounds (no VSTs, no external audio, just DAW MIDI to/from Kronos) in combination with Kronos headphone output, to keep it simple.
I currently don't have nor need an audio interface in my setup, that's why I never thought of routing audio from the DAW back to the Kronos for combined playback and recording.
But yes what you suggest sounds very interesting and definitely is something worth trying.
I think it should be possible.

It feels like "the other way around" to use a DAW, but hey, if it works... Smile
For one, it might be a way to circumvent the 64/32-bit Kronos Editor/VST issue, if I'm correct.
Use the VSTs in the 64-bit DAW environment, in combination with DAW-to-MIDI USB to generate the Kronos audio, and do the end-stage WAV recording on the Kronos itself.
It might not be the workflow for everyone, but it's a nice alternative to have if it works.

Like I said, I don't have an audio interface myself, but I'm surely interested in the result if someone would give this a try. Very Happy

I think this is a good example of this forum being a great place where ideas can be shared and combined to collectively produce new possibilities.

---

P.S. Something to be thoughtful of for those of you who want to experiment with Kronos SNG / DAW MIDI combination:
Whenever you do a "Copy from Program" (i.e. with effects) into the SONG on the Kronos,
for some reason the Kronos resets the Track status from "BTH" back to "INT", which means there's no MIDI going back to the DAW.
Simply set it back to "BTH" after "Copy from Program" and the MIDI is OK for that track again.
Took me a while before I found the culprit (see SEQ/Track Parameter/MIDI/Status).
Hope this helps someone.
_________________
Kronos 61, Korg M1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group