Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Editting sounds in SEQ mode

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hexfix93
Full Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:31 pm    Post subject: Editting sounds in SEQ mode Reply with quote

Can i edit synth sounds and stuff while the sequencer is running? Is there a way to do this so I can tweak stuff while the seq is running?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jeebustrain
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Posts: 1283
Location: In a Roger Dean painting

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. You can only edit programs in program mode.
_________________
::: Korg Kronos 88 ::: Alesis Fusion 8HD ::: Kurzweil PC361 ::: Roland V-Synth ::: DSI Prophet 12 ::: DSI OB-6 ::: Korg Prophecy ::: Moog Micromoog ::: Yamaha CP-30 ::: Alesis Andromeda ::: Moog Sub37 ::: Sequential Prophet 600 ::: Korg MS2000BR ::: GSI Burn :::

My Music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
QuiRobinez
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 2218
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 7:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Editting sounds in SEQ mode Reply with quote

Hexfix93 wrote:
Can i edit synth sounds and stuff while the sequencer is running? Is there a way to do this so I can tweak stuff while the seq is running?

yes and no,
a lot of the parameters can be modified in the sequencer mode through tone control. There you have a lot of important parameters for your sound assigned to the hardware knobs, faders and dials. If you miss a specific parameter then you can assign it to a knob (only the important parameters are available).

What's not possible is to design a sound from scratch in sequencer or combi mode.

here's a demo (go to 2:35) where I modify the sounds in realtime for a combi. Now the best part is that when you store the combi or song (sequence mode) that the modified sounds still exist and your original program sound is still original in the program location. Very powerful !


_________________
Qui Robinez Sound Design: Click here for Sound sets and Tutorials for the Korg Kronos and Korg Pa4x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hexfix93
Full Member


Joined: 09 Feb 2010
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man this really sucks ass..

Seriously, so when i am playing back stuff nope, it should allow you to open the prg window in seq to edit.. silly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CfNorENa
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Aug 2008
Posts: 437
Location: SF Bay Area

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hexfix93 wrote:
Man this really sucks ass..

Seriously, so when i am playing back stuff nope, it should allow you to open the prg window in seq to edit.. silly.


Did you watch the QuiRobinez video? You can do A LOT with tone control...
_________________
Korg gear: Kronos 73.
Other gear: Oberheim SEM | SCI Prophet 5 | Roland MKS-70 | Waldorf Microwave XTk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shakil
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 1169
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hexfix93 wrote:
Man this really sucks ass..

Seriously, so when i am playing back stuff nope, it should allow you to open the prg window in seq to edit.. silly.


yup, one of the reasons not buying KRONOS...
_________________
Roland Fantom-G6 ARX1, Korg M3-m exb-Radias, Korg Z1-18v, Roland MC-808, Roland MC-909, Korg microKontrol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Shakil
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 1169
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CfNorENa wrote:
Hexfix93 wrote:
Man this really sucks ass..

Seriously, so when i am playing back stuff nope, it should allow you to open the prg window in seq to edit.. silly.


Did you watch the QuiRobinez video? You can do A LOT with tone control...


You cant tone adjust individual drums sounds....
_________________
Roland Fantom-G6 ARX1, Korg M3-m exb-Radias, Korg Z1-18v, Roland MC-808, Roland MC-909, Korg microKontrol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2245

PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2013 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shakil wrote:
Hexfix93 wrote:
Man this really sucks ass..

Seriously, so when i am playing back stuff nope, it should allow you to open the prg window in seq to edit.. silly.


yup, one of the reasons not buying KRONOS...


kinda small reason in the BIG scheme of things....
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shakil
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 1169
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apex wrote:
Shakil wrote:
Hexfix93 wrote:
Man this really sucks ass..

Seriously, so when i am playing back stuff nope, it should allow you to open the prg window in seq to edit.. silly.


yup, one of the reasons not buying KRONOS...


kinda small reason in the BIG scheme of things....


It's a big one for me, and one of some other reasons. I could have replaced number of instruments with one KRONOS, if it had those features (editing programs and drums from sequencer, changing tracks and rehearsal mode while recording...)
_________________
Roland Fantom-G6 ARX1, Korg M3-m exb-Radias, Korg Z1-18v, Roland MC-808, Roland MC-909, Korg microKontrol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jeremykeys
Platinum Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2011
Posts: 3025
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It all depends on what you want to do. It's easy to adjust filters, envelopes and effects while the sequencer is running but if you want to change programs I'm not sure if you can. The tone controls work and you can pre-program them to be pretty much whatever you want them to be.
_________________
If music is the food of love, play on and play loud!
Gear: Kronos 73, Triton Pro-X, Wavestation EX, Polysix, King Korg, Monotron and Monotron Duo, Minikorg, Moog Gradnmother, 1 Roland U-20, Hammond M3, 4 accoustic and 6 electric guitars, 1 Ibanez 5 string bass, a bunch of microphones and other very cool toys, 1 wife and 3 cats!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shakil
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Jan 2002
Posts: 1169
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jeremykeys wrote:
It all depends on what you want to do. It's easy to adjust filters, envelopes and effects while the sequencer is running but if you want to change programs I'm not sure if you can. The tone controls work and you can pre-program them to be pretty much whatever you want them to be.


That doesn't work for drums. Imagine, you have a drum track playing, and would like to add another snare sample as a layer on top of the existing, pan it slightly and pitch it down a little... etc.
_________________
Roland Fantom-G6 ARX1, Korg M3-m exb-Radias, Korg Z1-18v, Roland MC-808, Roland MC-909, Korg microKontrol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group